Tuesday, August 24, 2010

I Am Love Soundtrack [2010]


John Adams's music is featured prominently throughout I Am Love, the new film from Italian director Luca Guadagnino and star Tilda Swinton, both of whom have spoken frequently of having created the film with Adams's music in mind. Guadagnino has called it "a crucial emotional anchor" to his film. In addition to the centrality of Adams's music in the film, the soundtrack album itself showcases more than an hour of music from throughout the composer's career. In a review of the album from the BBC, critic Michael Quinn calls it "one of those rare soundtracks that merits—and rewards—repeated listening." Read his review at bbc.co.uk.


The Philadelphia Daily News gives the album an A-. "Soundtrack collectors," writes reviewer Jonathan Takiff, should "seek out John Adams's brilliant score for the art film I Am Love ... a serious Academy Award contender." Read more at philly.com.

The Miami Herald's Rene Rodriguez, in a film review posted in the San Jose Mercury News, says "I Am Love is the first film to use compositions by the great, Pulitzer Prize-winning John Adams (Nixon in China) as a score, and the symphonic, sometimes discordant music considerably adds to the grandness and sweep of what is essentially an intimate character study." Rodriguez writes: "Right from the opening credits, in which the titles fill the screen in curly script over snowy vistas of Milan in winter," set to Adams's The Chairman Dances (a musical precursor to Nixon in China), "you know I Am Love is going to be something special." Read more at mercurynews.com.



The Chicago Tribune says "You will fall for I Am Love." Tribune film critic Michael Phillips explains: "When you have an actress as fabulous and idiosyncratically compelling as Swinton, a director who knows how to move a camera and let a narrative breathe, and a composer as distinctive as Adams, you're handed, on a platter, a film whose texture and atmosphere and fragrances stay with you." Read the complete review at chicagotribune.com.


I Am Love is an Italian drama revolving around a woman (Tilda Swinton) and her relationship with her family, food and sex. The film is presented through grand, evocative imagery, not unlike last year’s A Single Man. Fair warning, the film is entirely in Italian, but if you can get past the subtitles, I Am Love is a beautiful film.

Track list
01. The Chairman Dances (Foxtrot For Orchestra)
02. Century Rolls: I. First Movement (Excerpt)
03. Lollapalooza
04. Shaker Loops: III. Loops And Verses
05. Shaker Loops: IV. A Final Shaking
06. Act II, Scene 2: Klinghoffer's Death (LP Version)
07. Fearful Symmetries (Excerpt)
08. Haarmonielehre: Part II The Anfortas Wound
09. Harmonielehre: Part III Meister Eckhardt And Quackie



1 comment:

Related Posts with Thumbnails