Thursday, August 12, 2010

Scott Pilgrim vs. The World Score and Soundtrack [2010]

Based on Bryan Lee O’Malley’s comic book series, the film stars Michael Cera, Mary Elizabeth Winstead, Kieran Culkin, Chris Evans, Anna Kendrick, Alison Pill, Brandon Routh and Jason Schwartzman.

Meet charming and jobless Scott Pilgrim (Michael Cera). A bass guitarist for garage band Sex Bob-omb, the 22-year-old has just met the girl of his dreams…literally. The only catch to winning Ramona Flowers (Mary Elizabeth Winstead)? Her seven evil exes are coming to kill him.

Genre-smashing British filmmaker Edgar Wright (Hot Fuzz, Shaun of the Dead) tells the amazing story of one romantic slacker’s quest to power up with love in Scott Pilgrim vs. the World. Scott Pilgrim has never had a problem getting a girlfriend. It’s getting rid of them that proves difficult. From the girl who kicked his heart’s ass—and now is back in town—to the teenage distraction he’s trying to shake when Ramona rollerblades into his world, love hasn’t been easy. He soon discovers, however, his new crush has the most unusual baggage of all: a nefarious league of exes controls her love life and will do whatever it takes to eliminate him as a suitor. As Scott gets closer to Ramona, he must face an increasingly vicious rogues’ gallery from her past—from infamous skateboarders to vegan rock stars and fearsomely identical twins. And if he hopes to win his true love, he must vanquish them all before it really is game over.

The score is primarily by Nigel Godrich, while the soundtrack features tracks recorded by Beck masquerading as Scott Pilgrim’s band Sex Bob-Omb and Broken Social Scene masquerading as Crash and the Boys. The film’s actors do vocals, and the tracks don’t sound much like the artists that spawned them. This is a rare case where the in-film music sounds appropriate to the story and the world. The Sex Bob-Omb tracks in particular are great: they’re rough and catchy, but still sound like a few kids playing in their living room. (’Threshold’, on the soundtrack is a good example.)

Soundtrack track list
01. We Are Sex Bob-Omb - Sex Bob-Omb
02. Scott Pilgrim - Plumtree
03. I Hear Ramona Sing - Frank Black
04. By Your Side - Beachwood Sparks
05. O Katrina! - The Black Lips
06. I'm So Sad, So Very, Very, Sad - Crash and the Boys
07. We Hate You Please Die - Crash and the Boys
08. Garbage Truck - Sex Bob-Omb
09. Teenage Dream - T. Rex
10. Sleazy Bed Track - The Bluetones
11. It's Getting Boring By the Sea - Blood Red Shoes
12. Black Sheep - Metric
13. Threshold - Sex Bob-Omb
14. Anthems for a Seventeen Year Old Girl - Broken Social Scene
15. Under My Thumb - The Rolling Stones
16. Ramona (Acoustic Version) - Beck
17. Ramona - Beck
18. Summertime - Sex Bob-Omb
19. Threshold (8 bit) - Brian LeBarton

Score track list
01. Universal Theme
02. Hillcrest Park
03. Fight!
04. Slick (Patel's Song) - Dan The Automator
05. Love Me Some Walking
06. Talk To The Fist
07. Rumble
08. Feel The Wrath
09. The Grind
10. Hello Envy
11. Mystery Attacker
12. Second Cup
13. The Vegan
14. Bass Battle
15. Sorry I Guess
16. Roxy
17. The Ninth Circle
18. Katayanagi Twins vs. Sex Bob-Omb - Beck
19. This Fight Is Over
20. Gideon Calling
21. Level 7
22. Welcome To Chaos Theatre
23. We Are Sex Bob-Omb - Beck
24. Fast Entrance Into Hell
25. Chau Down
26. Game Over
27. So Alone
28. Round 2
29. Death To All Hipsters - Beck
30. A Different Guy
31. Boss Battle
32. Blowing Up Right Now
33. Aftermath
34. Bye and Stuff
35. Love - Osymyso
36. Ramona - Osymyso
37. Prepare - Osymyso
38. Ninja Ninja Revolution - Dan The Automator




  2. APE for soundtrack is here


Related Posts with Thumbnails