Sunday, March 27, 2011

Jane Eyre Soundtrack [2011]

In the story, Jane Eyre (Mia Wasikowska) flees Thornfield House, where she works as a governess for wealthy Edward Rochester (Michael Fassbender). As she reflects upon the people and emotions that have defined her, it is clear that the isolated and imposing residence – and Mr. Rochester’s coldness – have sorely tested the young woman’s resilience, forged years earlier when she was orphaned. She must now act decisively to secure her own future and come to terms with the past that haunts her – and the terrible secret that Mr. Rochester is hiding and that she has uncovered…

Also starring Sally Hawkins, Jamie Bell, Holliday Grainger,Tamzin Merchant and Imogen Poots.

Jane Eyre opened in selected theaters on March 11, 2011.

Dario Marianelli, whose previous work includes the Oscar-winning score for “Atonement,” writes in the liner notes to the soundtrack disc that he wanted to make the presence of the imprisoned Bertha Mason known musically in the film. The score opens on a note of melancholy, and harmonies that reminded me just a little of early music, but with the complexity and musical development of John Corigliano’s work. Jack Liebeck’s violin is the featured instrument throughout the score. Early on, it cries, but as Jane begins to free herself from the past, it begins to sing instead.

Track list
1. Wandering Jane
2. A Thorough Education
3. Arrival At Thornfield Hall
4. The End of Childhood
5. White Skin Like The Moon
6. A Game of Badminton
7. In Jest of Earnest
8. Do You Ever Laugh, Miss Eyre?
9. A Restless Night
10. Waiting for Mr. Rochester
11. Yes!
12. Mrs. Reed is Not Quite Finished
13. The Wedding Dress
14. An Insuperable Impediment
15. Jane’s Escape
16. Life on the Moors
17. The Call Within
18. Awaken
19. My Edward and I


1 comment:

Related Posts with Thumbnails