Thursday, March 31, 2011

Source Code Soundtrack [2011]
Captain Colter Stevens (Jake Gyllenhaal) wakes with a jolt to find himself on a commuter train heading into Chicago. Although the other passengers all seem to know him, he has absolutely no idea where—or even who—he is. The last thing Colter remembers is flying a helicopter mission in Iraq, but here he is in someone else’s life going through someone else’s morning commute. Before he can do anything an express train zooms by on the opposite track and a bomb explodes, seemingly killing Colter and all the other passengers.Colter comes to in an isolation chamber, strapped to a seat, and wearing his military flight suit. He still has no idea what’s happening, except that he’s being spoken to by mission controller Carol Goodwin (Vera Farmiga), who calmly recites a series of memory questions to which Colter is shocked to realize he knows the answers. He learns he’s part of an operation called “Beleaguered Castle,” but before he can progress any further, Goodwin starts up the machinery and suddenly…Colter is back on the train, at exactly the same time he first appeared there, once again speeding through Chicago with the same group of commuters. Colter figures he’s in some kind of simulation exercise, with his task being to find the bomber onboard the train before it goes off again. Living the explosion over and over, Colter must uncover the identity of the bomber, while also figuring out what the alternative universe of “Beleaguered Castle” is. Adding to the puzzle, Colter uses the second chance opportunities to make peace with his father, and to find romance with a fellow passenger on the train.

The film co-stars Michelle Monaghan,and Jeffrey Wright.

Source Code hits theaters on April 1st, 2011.

For his work, composer Chris Bacon said "The rolling string figure from the opening became a sort of musical glue, providing a motor to accompany Colter’s determination as the film progressed. Hopefully something familiar to grab on to throughout the film when a melody wasn’t really called for. The middle section of the opening was more traditionally melodic, and became the theme for the mystery of what source code is. The frozen moment is really the emotional climax of the film, and provided the opportunity to write a theme for Colter and Christina that we were able to parse up a bit and allude to in several earlier scenes, but reserve the full statement for this moment."

01. Source Code Main Titles
02. You Don’t Know Me
03. Eight Minutes
04. Racial Profiling
05. Coffee Will Have To Wait
06. Source Code Explained
07. Piecing It Together
08. Am I Dead?
09. One Death Is Enough
10. Colter Follows Derek
11. A Real Validation
12. I’m Gonna Save Her
13. No More Rubble Today
14. Regret And Reconciliation
15. Frozen Moment
16. Everything’s Gonna Be Okay


1 comment:

Related Posts with Thumbnails