Monday, December 13, 2010

The Tempest Soundtrack [2010]

Taymor, who last tackled Shakespeare with the cannibalism-fuelled Titus, first staged The Tempest in the 1980s on stage with her now trademark blend of puppetry and drama. The gender-switching film version is much bigger in scope and finds Hellen Mirren playing Prospera, a woman looking to exact revenge after she’s been unfairly usurped and exiled by her dead hubbie’s brother so he can steal her kingdom.

The film tells the tale of the Duchess Proaperas’ banishment to a “primitive” Island with her young daughter where she is forced to master the elements of nature and magic. Prospera plots to return her Daughter to her rightful place and wreak revenge on those responsible for her downfall. When the opportunity arises she calls forth a powerful storm (Tempest) to bring her betraying brother and all the key players in her usurping to the Island where she will have a decidedly “home court” advantage.

The Tempest co-stars Russell Brand (Trinculo), Alfred Molina (Stephano), Djimon Hounsou (Caliban), Alan Cumming (Sebastian), Chris Cooper (Antonio), Ben Whishaw (Ariel) and David Strathairn (Alonso). The film is directed by Julie Taymor (Titus, Frida, Across the Universe).

Goldenthal’s indie-rock driven original score album features vocals by Beth Gibbons (Portishead) and Reeve Carney (Carney, star of SpiderMan: Turn Off The Dark, on Broadway) and musicians Benjamin Curtis (Secret Machines), Page Hamilton (Helmet), Mark Stewart (Steve Reich, Ornette Coleman) as well as the composer himself on keyboards to bring the surreal world of the film alive.

The Tempest arrives in the US on December 10, 2010.

Track list
1. O Mistress Mine (Feat. Reeve Carney)
2. High Day Two-Step
3. Alchemical Lightshow
4. Full Fathom Five (Feat. Ben Whishaw)
5. Hell Is Empty
6. Brave New World
7. Admired Miranda
8. Ariel Swarm
9. Where the Bee Sucks (Feat. Ben Whishaw)
10. Rough Magic
11. Lava Dogs
12. Prospera’s Coda (Feat. Beth Gibbons)


1 comment:

Related Posts with Thumbnails